critics choice awards 2024 furnished apartments

The Critics Choice Awards 2024: A Night of Surprises & Celebrations

The 29th annual Critics Choice Awards took place on Sunday, January 14, 2024, honoring the best in film and television. The ceremony, hosted by comedian Chelsea Handler, was a mix of humor, emotion, and unpredictability, as some of the most acclaimed and popular titles of the year competed for the coveted trophies.

The biggest winner of the night was Oppenheimer, Christopher Nolan’s epic biopic of the physicist who led the Manhattan Project. The film won eight awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor for Cillian Murphy, and Best Original Screenplay. Oppenheimer also swept the technical categories, winning Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Production Design, and Best Visual Effects.

Another film that made a strong impression was Barbie, Greta Gerwig’s adaptation of the iconic doll’s life story. The film, which led the nominations with 18 nods, won four awards, including Best Actress for Margot Robbie, Best Supporting Actor for Ryan Gosling, Best Costume Design, and Best Hair and Makeup. Robbie and Gosling both gave heartfelt speeches, thanking Gerwig for her vision and the fans for their support.

Other notable film winners included Poor Things, Yorgos Lanthimos’ dark comedy based on the novel by Alasdair Gray, which won Best Comedy, Best Adapted Screenplay, and Best Actress in a Comedy for Emma Stone; The Holdovers, Paul Weitz’s drama about a group of misfits who bond over a snowstorm, which won Best Ensemble, Best Supporting Actress for Da’Vine Joy Randolph, and Best Original Song for “Hold On” by H.E.R.; and The Color Purple, Blitz Bazawule’s musical adaptation of the classic novel by Alice Walker, which won Best Musical and Best Actress in a Musical for Cynthia Erivo.

On the television side, the winners were more diverse and surprising, as some of the favorites were snubbed and some of the underdogs prevailed. The Bear, the animated series created by Guillermo del Toro and Jorge Gutierrez, won four awards, including Best Animated Series, Best Voice Actor for Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Best Voice Actress for Stephanie Beatriz, and Best Score for Gustavo Santaolalla. The Bear also received a special shout-out from Taylor Swift, who congratulated Moss-Bachrach on Twitter for his win.

Another show that impressed the critics was Beef, the comedy series created by and starring Steven Yeun and Ali Wong. The show, which follows a couple who run a Korean barbecue restaurant, won Best Comedy Series, Best Actor in a Comedy Series for Yeun, Best Actress in a Comedy Series for Wong, and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Sandra Oh. Yeun and Wong both thanked their parents, their co-stars, and their fans for their love and support.

Other notable television winners included Succession, which won Best Drama Series, Best Actor in a Drama Series for Kieran Culkin, and Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for Billy Crudup; The Crown, which won Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series for Elizabeth Debicki; and Only Murders in the Building, which won Best Limited Series and Best Actor in a Limited Series for Steve Martin.

The ceremony also featured some special moments, such as Harrison Ford receiving the Career Achievement Award and America Ferrera receiving the SeeHer Award. Ford thanked his colleagues, his family, and his fans for their loyalty and encouragement, while Ferrera delivered a powerful speech about representation and empowerment.

The Critics Choice Awards 2024 was a night of surprises and celebrations, as the critics honored some of the best and most diverse works of the year. The awards show also set the stage for the upcoming Oscars, which will take place on February 25, 2024. Who will win the ultimate prize? We’ll have to wait and see.

During this severe weather in Chicago, guests staying at Ryan Corporate Housing enjoyed relaxing in their furnished apartment and watching the awards.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *